My younger one turned six…Planning the Partyyy the whole day, and they sleep…

We organized a small party. This time around we thought that it will be entirely kids’ party. No elders allowed, except for grandparents. Kiddos had already spread a word about the b’day a month before; so every kid in the block was waiting for the party. Come the birthday, and sharp at 9:00 AM his friends (ABY and ARNY) popped in. The whole day they were trying to help me (GOD SAVE ME!!). Whenever I told them to go to their place, they would say ‘Aunty, we are here to help you!! My mom has sent me to your place’. They said that so earnestly, that I just could not help smiling.

My daughter was busy with her friends, planning the dresses and games. The entire day my home was buzzing with activity – as if there is a wedding. Grandparents, and six kids. There are three families in our building, and all of them have a combi of daughter and son. Coincidently, daughters are elder, while sons are younger. So it’s a gang of three girls, and three boys…and thank God all six are best of pals (with lots of infighting though).

Coming back to the birthday, all six of them were there the whole day…boys blowing balloons and then fighting for them…girls planning for the games and solo dance performances. At around 4:00 PM I pushed the four kids to go to their homes and get ready…And Whoaa!! They were back by 4:15. All decked up with Gifts. I could hardly get the birthday boy ready.

Anyways the party started with snacks. There were around 15 more kids apart from these 6 kids. Initially the boys were busy with running after each other, playing with the toys, sometimes dancing in between, and playing with balloons (there were loads of them, blown by Abby, Arny, and my son). Girls were shy initially, and then they too opened up…dancing. And then they started their party games. By that time, I observed Abby, Arny, and my son to have become somewhat little quiet. I thought might be it’s the games that they are concentrating on. Then came the turn of solo dances. Each girl had prepared her own song and was dancing. After three-four performance, I glanced through the room, and found threesome missing.

I searched again, and I saw them dozing off in the back of the sofaaa. I called their names, and they could barely open their eyes. Ohhh baby..all other kiddos were playing and the ones who were planning for the party were now too tired to enjoy it.

Girls were offended…no doubt J. My hubby quickly circulated the highlight of the party…a surprise item for the kids in the winters – Choco bar. The moment they saw the ice cream, they jumped up and grabbed it. God bless them!! They look lovely together!!

Leave a Reply

