Rain Patakha (cracker)

It’s almost June now and summers are in full bloom, here in North India. With temperatures running as high as 42-43 degree Celsius, any sign of clouds and rain bring a respite. Yesterday evening, I was working in the kitchen, when my 4 years old came running to me…shouting at the top of his voice

Mom!!!

Hey!! I am here in kitchen. What happened? Why are you shouting?

How will we go for swimming today? 😦

Why?

Can’t you see?

What?

So much of rain patakas outside?

What??? What outside?

Rain Patakha!! (with hands wide apart and “you don’t even know that” look on his face)

I was perplexed for a second, and suddenly I heard a thunder roar of clouds

Ahhh!! You mean lightning?

No

I mean those patakas (crackers) that the sky is burning!! (Again those bored looks) Why does sky do that? I hate it…why does it rain when I have to go for swimming?

Hmmm..let’s see..Hopefully there is no rain when you have to go for swimming..Meanwhile you go and see if your friends are outside?

Ok!! (with a resigned tone)

Two minutes later

Mom!!!

What??

He comes inside with an elated look on his face…

Give me my umbrella!! It’s so fun outside…everyone is out playing in rain…thank you sky!! I love you.

Off he went, happily, with his umbrella. The whole evening he spent with his friends, playing in rain (not asking even once about the swimming thing) 😀

That’s the magic of rain pataka…

Leave a Reply

